Posted by: piman007 | 10-02-2009

Convert IDE to AHCI for Vista

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

Convert IDE to AHCI for Vista

I have a server with the Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R. When I installed Vista on it I didn’t realize that by default, the Gigabyte DS3R BIOS sets the SATA ports to IDE mode. A few weeks later I realized this, and, wanting to use the faster native SATA mode for my SATA drives (which includes my boot drive), switched the disk mode setting to ACHI from IDE in the BIOS. What I got was a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)- an inaccessible boot device error 0x0000007B, so I had to switch back to IDE mode. After doing some research online I found that you would have to re-install Vista in while the BIOS as the SATA ports set to ACHI mode in order to get it to work, so I said "Nah forget it." I was not going to spend the time reinstalling Windows Vista and all the apps.

Apparently now there is a new, quick and easy way to fix this. Basically you use REGEDIT, go to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesMsahci, modify the key that says "Start" and change the value from "4" to "0". Reboot, then before Windows Vista starts up go to the BIOS and switch to ACHI, and Voila! I had to reboot one more time after time but it worked great afterwards.

The details are located here in this Microsoft Knowledge Base article:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976


ใส่ความเห็น

หมวดหมู่

